Suoraan sisältöön


Duis egestas auctor lacus, a bibendum sapien efficitur non.


Duis egestas auctor lacus, a bibendum sapien efficitur non.

Platform for regional democracy

The tasks of the South Savo Regioal Council include regional and land-use planning and the promotion of local and regional interests in general. The Council creates conditions for wellbeing, economic development and a safe and attractive physical environment for its citizens. It receives its funding from the member municipalities.

The County Council

The County Council is the highest decision-making body of the Regional Council. It consist of 67 members. Members for the Assembly are chosen by municipal councils. The County Council meets twice a year. 

Chairman of the County Council is Ms. Satu Taavitsainen (Social Democratic Party).

County Council 2017-2019

  • Satu Taavitsainen, Chairman (Social Democratic Party), Mikkeli
  • Markku Kakriainen, ​1st vice-chairman (Centre Party), Mikkeli
  • Oskari Valtola, 2nd vice-chairman (National Coalition Party), Mikkeli

Representatives of political parties:

  • 23 Centre Party representatives
  • 18 Social Democratic Party representatives
  • 11 National Coalition Party representatives
  • 6 The Greens representatives
  • 5 The Finns Party representatives
  • 3 Christian Democrats representatives
  • 1 Left Alliance representative

The Regional Governement of South Savo

The executive body of the Regional Council is called the Regional Government. It has 13 members. The political constitution both of the County Council and the Regional Government represent the political will of the region according to results of the local elections. 

The Regional Government 2017 - 2019

  • Chairman Jarkko Wuorinen (Centre), Savonlinna
  • ​1st vice-chairman Pekka Selenius (National Coalition Party), Mikkeli
  • 2nd vice-chairman Anna-Kristiina Mikkonen (Social Democratic Party), Savonlinna


Olkkonen Kirsi Centre Pöyry Pekka Centre
Hänninen Elisa Centre Nykänen Tapani Centre
Kauhanen Matti Centre Liukkonen Heikki Centre
Auvinen Hannu Centre Laukkanen Kati Centre
Ojala Kari SDP Rahikainen Pirkko SDP
Leskinen Ulla SDP Vainio Hanne SDP
Kärkkäinen Tuula SDP Huupponen Erkki SDP
Sairanen Lea Coalition Leskinen Jaana Coalition
Hartonen-Pulkka Tanja Finns Virtanen Outi Finns
Liikanen Veli Greens Leikas Tiia Greens

The five member Board of Controllers assess whether the objectives, priorities, activities, financial means and management set for the Regional Council are being met.